The BJS Travelling Fellowship was first awarded in 1979. Funded by the BJS, it allows the President to choose a distinguished surgeon from overseas to visit and report on surgical practice within acute general hospitals.

Exceptionally, surgeons from the British Isles have been invited to visit centres at home and abroad. The current value is £5,000.

BJS Travelling Fellows

2014 Professor Richard Reznick
2013 Professor Jonathan Fawcett
2012 Professor Antonio Sitges-Serra
2011 Professor Jorgen Nordenstrom
2010 Dr Ari Leppaniemi
2009 Professor Torben Schroeder
2008 Professor John Daly
2007 Professor Kenneth Boffard
2006 Professor Barbara Bass
2005 Professor Brian J Rowlands
2004 Professor Bruce Barraclough
2003 Professor Ernest Moore (Denver), Professor Jonathan Meakins (Oxford), Professor Eugen Faist (Munich)
2002 Award used to fund a number of distinguished overseas speakers
2001 Professor Abe Fingerhut
2000 Professor Claude Organ
1999 Professor Huug Obertop
1998 David Theile
1997 Professor Phillipus C Bornman
1996 Professor Sir Michael Peckham
1995 L P Fielding
1994 Professor O T Terpstra
1993 Mr M C Pietroni
1992 V W Fazio
1991 Professor P A Jones
1990 award
1987 Dr D Trunkey
1986 Professor G L Hill
1985 Professor S Bengmark
1984 Mr N Taddeus
1983 Dr R Egdahl
1982 Professor J E Mullens
1981 K A Kelly
1980 Dr M Orloff
1979 Professor V Marshall

ASGBI welcomes members from all surgical fields.

Join us today and get access to exclusive videos and publications

available only to our members.